Eleventh Annual Janet L. Norwood Award

Nancy Flournoy, Ph.D.
For Outstanding Achievement By A Woman In The Statistical Sciences

Recipient: Nancy Flournoy, Ph.D.

  • Nancy Flournoy, Ph.D.
  • Award

Dr. Nancy Flournoy, Professor in the Department of Statistics at the University of Missouri’s College of Arts and Science, is the recipient of the Eleventh Annual Janet L. Norwood Award for Outstanding Achievement by a Woman in the Statistical Sciences. She will accept the award at the University of Alabama at Birmingham.

Dr. Flournoy received her BS and MS in Biostatistics from UCLA and her Ph.D. from the University of Washington. Spanning four decades, her rich diversification in academic appointments range from Directorships at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center and NSF’s Program in Statistics and Probability, to chairmanships with American University and the University of Missouri (MU). Having recently stepped down as MU's Chair of Statistics, she is now returning from sabbatical as Professor. Her research interests in theoretical and applied statistics include: clinical trials, adaptive sequential designs, transplantation biology and infectious disease, specifically cytomegalovirus at a key point prior to the AIDS epidemic. Notably, her initial collaborative efforts on pioneering transplantation research with the team of Dr. E. D. Thomas, who went on to receive the Nobel Prize in Medicine in 1990. Dr. Flournoy is a long-standing member of the Institute of Mathematical Statistics (Fellow, '90 & Council Member, '04-'07); Washington Academy of Sciences (Fellow, '93 & Board of Directors Member, '91 - '92); World Academy of Art Science (Fellow, '92); American Statistical Association (Fellow, '92 & Council Chair, '93-'95); American Association for the and Advancement of Science (Fellow, '93 & Statistics Chair, '01-'04), to name a few academic societies.

Held On: Wednesday, September 12, 2012
Time: 9:30 A.M.
Location: Alys Stephens Performing Arts Center
Reynolds-Kirschbaum Recital Hall
1200 10th Avenue South
Birmingham AL
Agenda: [PDF File]
9:30 A.M. Max Michael, M.D.: Dean, School of Public Health
Welcome & Call to Order
9:35 A.M. Richard Marchase, Ph.D.: Interim President, UAB
UAB Welcome
9:40 A.M. Naomi Fineberg, Ph.D.: Research Prof & Chair, Dept of Biostatistics
Department of Biostatistics Welcome
9:45 A.M. Leslie McClure, Ph.D.: Assoc Prof & Dir, Grad Program; Biostatistics
Introduction of Katholi Award winner, Dr. John Bentley
9:50 A.M. Dr. John Bentley
Acceptance of Katholi Award
9:55 A.M. David B. Allison, Ph.D.: Distinguished Prof & Assoc Dean for Science
Introduction of Dr. Flournoy
10:00 A.M. Nancy Flournoy, Ph.D.: Professor, Statistics; University of Missouri
"Response-Adaptive Designs"
10:50 A.M. David B. Allison, Ph.D. & Max Michael, M.D.
Present award to Dr. Flournoy
11:00 A.M. Reception (Alys Stephens Center, Abroms Patrons Lounge)
12:00 P.M. Fini

Please R.S.V.P. at (205) 975-9169 (email: rsarver@uab.edu


The UAB School of Public Health has a fund-raising effort to grow the endowment for this award in honor of Dr. Norwood and her influence on women in the statistical sciences. For more information about this effort, please contact Dr. David Allison at Dallison@uab.edu.

**NOTE: You will need RealOne Player to view videos.