Seventh Annual Janet L. Norwood Award

Xihong Lin, Ph.D. For Outstanding Achievement By A Woman In The Statistical Sciences

Recipient: Xihong Lin, Ph.D.

  • Xihong Lin, Ph.D.
  • Award
Dr. Xihong Lin, Professor of Biostatistics at Harvard's School of Public Health, is the recipient of the Seventh Annual Janet L. Norwood Award for Outstanding Achievement by a Woman in the Statistical Sciences. She will accept the award at the University of Alabama at Birmingham on Wednesday, September 17, 2008.

Dr. Lin received her BS in Applied Mathematics from Tsinghua University, MS in Statistics from the University of Iowa and PhD in Biostatistics from the University of Washington. She began her career in academe at the University of Michigan in 1995 where she progressed steadily through the ranks to that of Professor of Biostatistics, a position which she currently occupies at Harvard's School of Public Health. Her research areas include statistical learning methods for high-dimensional data, dimension reduction, variable selection, nonparametric & semiparametric regression models, measurement error, mixed (frailty) models, estimating equations, and missing data. She is a Fellow of the American Statistical Association (ASA), the Institute of Mathematical Statistics and an elected member of the International Statistical Institute. She is recipient of the COPSS President's Award from the Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies as well as a National Cancer Institute MERIT Award recipient. Dr. Lin has been a member of the editorial boards of Biometrika, Biometrics, Statistica Sinica, and the Journal of the American Statistical Association.

Held On: Wednesday, September 17, 2008
Time: 9:30 A.M.
Location: Alys Stephens Center
Reynolds-Kirschbaum Recital Hall
1200 10th Avenue South
Birmingham AL
9:30 A.M. David B. Allison, Ph.D.: Prof & Head, Section on Statistical Genetics
Welcome & Call to Order
9:35 A.M. Carol Z. Garrison, Ph.D.: President, UAB
UAB Welcome
9:40 A.M. Max Michael, M.D.: Dean, School of Public Health
SOPH Welcome
9:45 A.M. George Howard, DrPH: Chair, Department of Biostatistics
Inauguration of New Katholi Award
9:50 A.M. Christopher S. Coffey, Ph.D.: Director of Graduate Studies, Department of Biostatistics
Introduction of Katholi Award Winner, Dr. Tamekia Jones
9:55 A.M. Tamekia Jones, Ph.D.: University of Florida
Acceptance of Katholi Award
10:00 A.M. David B. Allison, Ph.D.:
Introduction of Dr. Xihong Lin
10:05 A.M. Xihong Lin, Ph.D.: Prof. Biostatistics, Harvard School of Public Health
"Statistical Issues and Challenges in Analyzing High-throughput "Omics" Data"
10:50 A.M. David B. Allison, Ph.D. & Max Michael, M.D.
Present award to Dr. Xihong Lin
11:00 A.M. Reception (Alys Stephens Center, Abroms Patrons Lounge)
12:00 P.M. Fini

**NOTE: You will need RealOne Player to view videos.