Tenth Annual Janet L. Norwood Award

 Lynne Billard, Ph.D. For Outstanding Achievement By A Woman In The Statistical Sciences

Recipient: Lynne Billard, Ph.D.

  • Lynne Billard, Ph.D.
  • Award

Dr. Lynne Billard, University Professor in the Department of Statistics at the University of Georgia's Franklin College of Arts and Sciences, is the recipient of the Tenth Annual Janet L. Norwood Award for Outstanding Achievement by a Woman in the Statistical Sciences. She will accept the award at the University of Alabama at Birmingham.

Dr. Billard received her B.Sc. and Ph.D. from the University of New South Wales, Australia where she began her teaching career in 1966. She has held appointments at the University of Waterloo in Canada and Florida State University, among others. Currently, Dr. Billard is a university professor at the University of Georgia, adjunct professor at Australian National University, and an honorary professorial fellow at the University of Melbourne. Her research interests include: epidemic theory relative to AIDS; stochastic processes with emphasis on model building; sequential analysis with emphasis on hypothesis testing; statistical inference with emphasis on estimation problems, time series analysis; and symbolic data analysis. Dr. Billard is a long-standing member and recipient of numerous honors from many notable societies such as the American Statistical Association (President 1996), the International Biometric Society (President 1994, 1995), the Institute of Mathematical Statistics (Fellow 1988) and the Interface Foundation of North America (Founding Secretary 1987), to name a few.

Held On: Wednesday, September 14, 2011
Time: 9:30 A.M.
Location: Alys Stephens Center
Reynolds-Kirschbaum Recital Hall
1200 10th Avenue South
Birmingham AL
Agenda: [PDF File]
9:30 A.M. Max Michael, M.D.: Dean, School of Public Health
Welcome & Call to Order
9:35 A.M. Carol Z. Garrison, Ph.D.: President, UAB
UAB Welcome
9:40 A.M. George Howard, Dr.Ph.: Prof & Chair, Dept of Biostatistics
Department of Biostatistics Welcome
9:45 A.M. Hemant K Tiwari, Ph.D.: William "Student" Sealy Gosset Assoc Prof
Introduction of Katholi Award winner, Dr. Nathan Wineinger
9:50 A.M. Nathan Wineinger, Ph.D.
Acceptance of Katholi Award
9:55 A.M. David B. Allison, Ph.D.: Distinguished Prof & Assoc Dean for Science
Introduction of Dr. Lynne Billard
10:00 A.M. Lynne Billard, Ph.D.: University Professor, University of Georgia
"Symbolic Data Analysis: Distributions are the Numbers of the Future"
10:50 A.M. David B. Allison, Ph.D. & Max Michael, M.D.
Present award to Dr. Lynne Billard & Board of Trustees Endowment Resolution to Dr. Janet L. Norwood
11:00 A.M. Reception (Alys Stephens Center, Abroms Patrons Lounge)
12:00 P.M. Fini

Please R.S.V.P. at (205) 975-9193 by September 9


The UAB School of Public Health has a fund-raising effort to grow the endowment for this award in honor of Dr. Norwood and her influence on women in the statistical sciences. For more information about this effort, please contact Dr. David Allison at Dallison@uab.edu.

**NOTE: You will need RealOne Player to view videos.