Third Annual Janet L. Norwood Award

Alice S. Whittemore, Ph.D. For Outstanding Achievement By A Woman In The Statistical Sciences

RECIPIENT: Alice S. Whittemore, Ph.D.

  • Alice S. Whittemore, Ph.D.
  • Award
Dr. Alice S. Whittemore, Professor and Co-Chair of Health Research and Policy at the Stanford University School of Medicine, is the recipient of the Third Annual Janet L. Norwood Award for Outstanding Achievement by a Woman in the Statistical Sciences. She will accept the Award and deliver a lecture at the ceremony in her honor, to be held at the University of Alabama at Birmingham.

Dr. Whittemore received her BS, MA and PhD in Mathematics, from Marymount Manhattan College and the City University of New York, respectively. She joined the Department of Health Research and Policy at Stanford University’s School of Medicine in 1978 as a Senior Research Scientist, became a full professor the following year, and served as Chief of Epidemiology in the department from 1997 – 2001. Her main research focus has been to develop improved statistical methods for the design and conduct of studies involving hereditary predisposition and modifiable lifestyle characteristics in the etiologies of site-specific cancers. Dr. Whittemore is a member of the Institute of Medicine, Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Sciences, Fellow of the American Statistical Association, and a past President of the International Biometric Society. She has served on the boards of the Scientific Advisors of the U.S. National Cancer Institute and on the Scientific Counselors of the U.S. National Institute for Environmental Health Sciences.

Held On: October 15, 2004
Time: 9:30 A.M.
Location: Alys Stephens Center
Reynolds-Kirschbaum Recital Hall
1200 10th Avenue South
Birmingham AL
9:30 A.M. David B. Allison, Ph.D.: Prof & Head, Section on Statistical Genetics
Call to order & welcome
9:32 A.M. Carol Z. Garrison, Ph.D.: President
UAB Welcome
9:37 A.M. Max Michael, III M.D.: Dean, School of Public Health
SOPH Welcome
9:42 A.M. Virginia Gilbert Loftin: President of the Women's Fund
9:47 A.M. Varghese George Ph.D.: Prof, Section on Statistical Genetics
History of the Award
10:00 A.M. David B. Allison, Ph.D.
Introduce Dr. Whittemore
10:05 A.M. Alice S. Whittemore, Ph.D.: Recipient
"Some Statistical Problems in Human Genetics"
10:50 A.M. David B. Allison, Ph.D. & Max Michael III, M.D.
Present award to Dr. Whittemore
11:00 A.M. Reception (Alys Stephens Center, Foyer)

**NOTE: You will need RealOne Player to view videos.