Sam Brown Bridge Builder Award

Sam BrownThe Sam Brown Bridge Builder Award was established in 2009 to recognize the remarkable career of Dr. Sam Brown. The award honors his unique ability to develop and nurture working relationships between faculty and staff across the UAB campus in ways that embodied the vision, character, and bridge-building talents vital to the future of UAB. Previous award recipients were:

2010 - Dr. Sarah Morgan
2011 - Dr. Kent Keyser
2012 - Drs. Louis Bridger and Diane Tucker

2013 - Jennifer Kilgo, Ed.D., professor of Early Intervention/Early Childhood Special Education, and Cynthia Ryan, Ph.D., associate professor of English

Nominations are now being accepted for the third annual Sam Brown Bridge Builder Award to be announced by the middle of June. Nominees should have demonstrated a deep and abiding commitment to facilitating collaboration and partnership across campus in ways that enhance the research and/or teaching activities of the University. All full time UAB faculty and staff are eligible for this Award.

The complete nomination form with instructions is available at

The primary nominator should submit a letter describing the nominee’s sustained unselfish leadership in fostering the growth and/or development of interdisciplinary collaboration between two or more schools in ways that embodies the vision, character, and bridge-building talents vital to the future of UAB. The letter should describe the impact of the efforts on specific programs or collaborations. As described in the instructions two or more letters supporting the nomination and emphasizing the nominee’s contributions are required. At least one of those letters must come from outside the nominee’s primary school of appointment.

The Sam Brown Bridge Builder Award recipient will be recognized at an awards luncheon.  
The award recipient will receive a cash award plus a special commemorative plaque.