2013 Call for APHA Awards Nominations

APHA Awards 2013

The American Public Health Association is now accepting nominations for its 2013 APHA Awards Program.

Nominate a colleague who exemplifies outstanding professionalism, dedication and contributions in the field of public health. Membership is not required for nomination to several of APHA’s national awards. The awards will be presented at the 141st APHA Annual Meeting and Exposition, Nov. 2-6, 2013, in Boston.

The deadline for nominations is April 26. Awards description, criteria and nomination forms are available at www.apha.org/about/awards. For more information contact deborah.dillard@apha.org or 202-777-2442.

Sedgwick Memorial Medal – recognizes an individual for outstanding accomplishments in the field of public health and is APHA’s oldest and most prestigious honor

APHA Award for Excellence – honors a living individual for creative work in applying scientific knowledge or innovation to improve community health

David P. Rall Award for Advocacy in Public Health – recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions to public health through science-based advocacy

Martha May Eliot Award – honors a professional worker in the field of maternal and child health

Milton and Ruth Roemer Prize for Creative Local Public Health – honors a health officer of a county, city or other unit of local government in recognition of outstanding creative and innovative public health work

Helen Rodriguez-Trias Social Justice Award – recognizes an individual who has worked toward social justice for underserved and disadvantaged populations

Sidel-Levy Award for Peace – is presented to an APHA member who has made outstanding contributions to preventing war and promoting international peace

Jay S. Drotman Memorial Award – recognizes the career of a promising young public health professional or student

Student Assembly Public Health Mentoring Award – recognizes an APHA member for his or her essential role of mentoring in public health and leadership development

List of 2012 Award Recipients