You are here


Academic Scholarships

Ken Dillon Memorial Fellowship for Indoor Environmental Quality Design, This award is in honor of Dr. Henry Kenneth Dillon, a founding member of the GEI Advisory Board and Associate Professor of Environmental Health Sciences at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB). In his 20 years of work at UAB, Dillon was not only a respected teacher and mentor, but also, a leading researcher in the field of indoor air quality. Additionally, Dr. Dillon was instrumental in the US Department of Housing and Urban Development's (HUD) Healthy Homes Program in Alabama. Dillon studied the effects of indoor pollutants on homeowners, and trained residents to monitor their homes for health hazards, including lead, mold, and chemical asthma triggers.

American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE) Foundation, The American Society of Safety Engineers Foundation, established by and in partnership with the American Society of Safety Engineers, generates funding and provides resources for scholarship, applied research, academic accreditation, and related academic initiatives in order to advance the safety, health, and environmental profession.



American Association of Occupational Health Nurses (AAOHN), Annually, the AAOHN Foundation awards grants to support professional development (academic and continuing education) and leadership development in occupational and environmental health. 

Daughters of the American Revolution Scholarships, The NSDAR awards multiple scholarships to students showing dedication to the pursuit of an undergraduate degree in one of the following areas: history, political science, economics, government or nursing.

The DAR Scholarship Committee awards scholarships to qualified applicants regardless of race religion, sex or national origin. All multi-year scholaships, typically renewable up to four years, must be for consecutive years of attendance at an accredited college or university in the United States. The ONLY exception is the American Indian Scholarship that is available for students pursuing vocational training.

American Industrial Hygiene Foundation (AIHF) , The George and Florence Clayton Scholarship was endowed in May 1997 through contributions from Mr. and Mrs. Clayton, the employees of Clayton Environmental Consultants (now Bureau Veritas), and several individual alumni of the Clayton organization. Students meeting the AIHF general scholarship criteria are eligible for this scholarship. However, preference is given to students enrolled at University of Alabama at Birmingham, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor, or Wayne State University-Detroit.

American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists (ACGIF)FOHS was established in 1998 to complement the work of the American Industrial Hygiene Foundation (AIHF), which was established by the American Industrial Hygiene Association over twenty years ago. The plans of the FOHS are unique and singular. The benefits of FOHS programming will go to all within the profession and to the betterment of worker health and safety.

Please Visit the below websites for other available scholarships

 UAB School of Public Health

Nursing Scholarships