Charles R. Katholi Endowed Distinguished Dissertation Award

This award pays tribute to Dr. Katholi's longtime service to and support of UAB and the Department of Biostatistics. The award was established to encourage excellence in research and scholarly activities among students in the Department of Biostatistics.

Dr. Katholi began his career at UAB in 1970 as an Assistant Professor of Biomathematics. In 1982 he was named Associate Professor of Biostatistics and Biomathematics and in 1995 was appointed Professor of Biostatistics. He served as interim department chair for two years, 1997-1999 and was named Professor Emeritus in 2003. During this time he has consistently demonstrated a sincere love of teaching and commitment to educating students. He is also regarded as a valued mentor and role model to young faculty members.

Over the past decade, Dr. Katholi has made substantial contributions to developing methods and software for Onchocerciasis (river blindness) elimination programs in Africa and Central and South America. He has also consistently served associations, nonprofits, and other organizations throughout the nation as a statistical consultant and reviewer.

A selection committee will choose from among current academic year doctoral graduates from the Department of Biostatistics who demonstrate superior performance in academics and knowledge of biostatistics. The award will be presented at the annual Janet L. Norwood Lecture which is part of the School's Public Health Lecture Series.

Past Awards

  • 11th Annual Award (2018) - Allison Fialkowski, PhD
  • 10th Annual Award (2017) - Recipient: Yan Li, PhD
  • 9th Annual Award (2016) - Recipient: Hwasoon Kim, PhD
  • 8th Annual Award (2015) - Recipient: Brandon George, PhD
  • 7th Annual Award (2014) - Recipient: Peng Li, PhD
  • 6th Annual Award (2013) - Recipient: Samantha R. Seals, PhD
  • 5th Annual Award (2012) - Recipient: John Bentley, PhD
  • 4th Annual Award (2011) - Recipient: Nathan Wineinger, PhD
  • 3rd Annual Award (2010) - Recipient: Hongjiang Gao, PhD
  • 2nd Annual Award (2009) - Recipient: Scott Keith, PhD
  • 1st Annual Award (2008) - Recipient: Tamekia Jones, PhD



Accessibility | UAB Web Policy | Disclaimer | Contact Us  | © Copyright UAB School of Public Health