SOPH 2020 Outstanding Student Awardees Announced

School of Public Health

Congratulations to the 2020 SOPH Outstanding Student Awardees!

Pictured above from left to right:

Outstanding Undergraduate Student: Ashlyn Murrell

Outstanding Masters Student (MPH): Haley Greene, Department of Epidemiology

Outstanding Masters Student (MS): Andrew Sims, Department of Biostatistics

Outstanding Masters Student (MSPH): Nora Balas, Department of Epidemiology

Outstanding Doctoral Student: Anastasia Hartzes, Department of Biostatistics


Outstanding Undergraduate, Masters, and Doctoral Student Awards

Every year the School of Public Health has the opportunity to select one graduating undergraduate, MPH, MS, MSPH, DrPH, and PhD student to receive Outstanding Student awards. Based on nominations made by faculty members, undergraduate selections are made by the Undergraduate Committee and graduate selections are made by the Admissions & Graduation Committee.


Who: Students completing degrees in the current academic term (fall and spring) and previous summer term.


We will consider any student from any School of Public Health degree program who will graduate in the Fall and Spring semester of the current academic year, or who have graduated in the past summer term.


By the criteria of the School of Public Health, outstanding students excel in scholarship, leadership, contribution to the research literature in public health, community service and/or overall contribution to the field of public health and to the School of Public Health. Excellence in more than one of these areas is highly valued. We evaluate students on the basis of their accomplishments while they are students at the School of Public Health.